Dancing our way to a name

As our new church begins to grapple with the issue of what our name will be, I am thinking of ways to help us frame that discussion.  I have a solid page of potential names, but none yet have made me say, “that’s it!”  Perhaps one of them will bring me to that conclusion one day, but it hasn’t happened yet.  I do, however, have a particular theology in mind that I want to influence our name.  I have a picture, a belief, an ideal, a narrative, and a feeling that I want to see reflected in our name.  And the best way that I can articulate what I’m thinking is to point you to a book I recently read: C. Baxter Kruger’s, The Great Dance: The Christian Vision Revisited.

Kruger, in a very C.S. Lewis-esque way, describes a wonderful Trinitarian picture of God, creation, the narrative we call life, and redemption in and through Jesus.  There is a great dance in which we are all invited to participate — a dance that has been going since the beginning and that will continue forever.  Everyone, in one way or another, knows the dance on some level.  We see it all around us in that which is good, just, and beautiful.  “The dance is ours — we are wired for it.”  The Church, though, is the people who have heard the music and begun to know it by name; they have entered the dance; they participate in it; and they can’t help but invite people to dance with them.

So whether or not you’re in the midst of naming a church or just looking for a good read, I recommend The Great Dance.  And I’ll keep you posted on our name.

 

3 responses to “Dancing our way to a name

  1. This book is excellent. I highly recommend it!

  2. Hey Aaron
    That sonds a lot like a theme in a lecture series I’ve been listening to by Eugene Peterson on Spiritual Formation from a Biblical perspective. It is very strong on Trinitarian theology and talks about the dance that is spiritual formation! Thanks for the recommendation!

  3. Your post reminded me of the lyrics of Lord of the Dance:

    I danced in the morning when the world was begun
    I danced in the moon and the stars and the sun
    I came down from heaven and I danced on the earth
    At bethelehem I had my birth:

    Dance then, wherever you may be
    I am the lord of the dance, said he!
    And I’ll lead you all, wherever you may be
    And I’ll lead you all in the dance, said he!
    (…Lead you all in the dance, said he!)

    I danced for the scribe and the pharisee
    But they would not dance and they wouldn’t follow me
    I danced for the fishermen, for peter james and john
    They came with me and the dance went on:

    Dance then, wherever you may be
    I am the lord of the dance, said he!
    And I’ll lead you all, wherever you may be
    And I’ll lead you all in the dance, said he!
    (…Lead you all in the dance, said he!)

    I danced on the sabbath and I healed the lame
    The holy people said it was a shame!
    They whipped me and stripped me and hung me high
    And left me there on a cross to die!

    Dance then, wherever you may be
    I am the lord of the dance, said he!
    And I’ll lead you all, wherever you may be
    And I’ll lead you all in the dance, said he!
    (…Lead you all in the dance, said he!)

    I danced on a friday when the sky turned black
    It’s hard to dance with the devil on your back
    They buried my body and they thought I’d gone
    But I am the dance and I still go on!

    Dance then, wherever you may be
    I am the lord of the dance, said he!
    And I’ll lead you all, wherever you may be
    And I’ll lead you all in the dance, said he!
    (…Lead you all in the dance, said he!)

    They cut me down but I leap up high
    I am the life that will never never die!
    I’ll live in you if you’ll live in me
    I am the lord of the dance, said he!

    Dance then, wherever you may be
    I am the lord of the dance, said he!
    And I’ll lead you all, wherever you may be
    And I’ll lead you all in the dance, said he!

Leave a Reply

